Posts

So you think you know your Japanese media history

  WELL, TO QUOTE A WEIRD GUY, EVERYTHING YOU KNOW IS WRONG  I get it, you think Super Sentai only started in 1992 or 1993 just to be a spring board for a toy market here in the states. Well, what if i told you it actually started the same year as Chuck Woolery's game show career and his Wheel of Fortune? Or that Kamen Rider as a franchise is older than the modern Price is Right on CBS daytime (WITH Bob Barker). Or how SASUKE (no, not the rival of a hyperactive knucklehead ninja) inherited the hard obstacle course gene from American Gladiators' Eliminator after the latter ended its original run. Heck, The same year volunteer armies tried their first attacks on Takeshi's Castle, American kids first attacked a giant nose to grab an orange flag. But most people don't know this because of what we got instead: Mighty Morphin' Nostalgia Loop .. I mean Power Rangers, modern Kamen Rider slowly making it to the US prior via fan dubs before TokuSHOUTsu got the license to offic...

Spoiling....why?

  SERIOUSLY... WHY? Surprise.      It's not just a retired Wheel of Fortune space.     It's a real feeling that somehow, we lost the ability to feel.    But the culprits are known.   Leakers, spoilers, dataminers, those who CLAIM they known what's coming before the time for the reveal gets revealed, those who use the old "My uncle works at Nintendo" (which I bet nobody seriously buys as that line is older than Cranky Kong and deader than Wrinkly Kong post DKC3), and the ones with blurry screenshots that have the same quality as Bigfoot photos,  This goes for pretty much anything, including major movies (Hi Mario) to video gaming (Hi Mario, again) to game reveals, like the Nintendo Direct (Don't eat me, Kirby) When we let the rumor mill, the leakers (even if their leaks are as fake as a game staring Waluigi), or a spoiler-ologist whose uncle was NEVER under employment by Nintendo grab hold of our expectations, we either: Lose our sen...

So.. why do I recommend the way I do on here?

THE GUIDE I USE (FOR THE MOST PART)   When it comes to digital media, especially in places like Youtube and beyond, it can be like playing Minesweeper on thee hardest settings: you'd get reuploads of reuploads that's so bad in quality that by the time you see it, it's un-watchable, or you'd get bait-and-switched (Can anyone say RickRolled?), or redirected to a shady torrent that may or may not contain a virus that'll destroy your computer or put your information at risk.  That is, unless you mainly look for official and official-ajacent channels and licensed content on free streaming sites (like PlutoTV or Tubi).  Now I COULD send you to the big boys (Peacock, Paramount+, Disney+, etc+), but that requires money. Money that not everyone has...in this economy...with gas prices going up the way they are right now as of the date this post is being made...and with the prices OF said services (even for the lower tier WITH ADS)....almost like they're trying to become t...

Ode to Lost Media (aka a wishlist, get over it)

  THINGS I WANT TO BE ABLE TO SEE WHILE I'M ALIVE AND ABLE TO USE YOUTUBE AND THE LIKE   Chuck Woolery Wheel of Fortune from 1975 (I know other years are covered, but i mean the formative months, including January of 1975, where there's NO video.... just audio recordings) Second Chance (1976-1977) I want to see more of its evolution, including how the big money space operated before the show was canceled and got the 80s treatment as the Press Your Luck we know and love with the Whammies we grew to love to dislike. Drew Carey's Price is Right Audition Footage... .wait, that doesn't exist as he didn't audition Doug Davidson doing The Price is Right Live (way after his 1994-95 stint on The New Price is Right in syndication) The possibly boring Double Dare 1986 pilot, even if it didn't have physical challenges in the front game The Family Double Dare exclusive music cues that didn't get used in other versions of Double Dare (both Fox era and Nick Studios era) Th...

Another Addendum (Game Show Full Episodes from the unlikiest of places)

SOME STUFF I FORGOT YESTERDAY Turns out, I forgot some stuff in that post I made previously of new free and official media: rare appearances of full episodes on Jeopardy's and Wheel of Fortune's channel.  Note that I'll exclude the upload of Pat's final show from Wheel's account as it was a special thing done FOR Pat's retirement...but we do have a 2 parter that shows another retirement (no, not Chuck Woolery on the daytime show during Christmas of 81, but the 1997 exit of a manual puzzle board followed by the next episode with the reveal of the digital one)  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-mhusKHDXv8 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n28gYdnSmHU I should note that these are NOT edited in anyway... even ads coming from broadcast AND the King World logo making appearances. A third full episode and a compilation of themed solves also exist, but I won't link to that episode as it's from the current Seacrest era.  But still, here's some motivational puzzl...

New Online Media Updates

 UPDATED MEDIA RECOMMENDATIONS: LATE MARCH/EARLY APRIL EDITION    Yes, one of these again.  But I do have some new and updated things to show, including new (and free) sources for Cartoon Network classics (sorry, Amazon).  We start with 3 boys with similar names, one with a tenancy to scam and be as greedy as a Whammy (with the slapstick aftermath of a Whammy animation attached to it as well)...   ED EDD N EDDY https://tubitv.com/series/300019095/ed-edd-n-eddy  What can i say about this show besides it's pure slapstick comedy from the old days of CN.    Oh, and as a bonus, here's some specials and a movie https://tubitv.com/movies/100053706/ed-edd-n-eddy-s-boo-haw-haw (halloween special)  https://tubitv.com/movies/100053583/ed-edd-n-eddy-s-hanky-panky-hullabaloo (valentines day special) https://tubitv.com/movies/100053831/ed-edd-n-eddy-s-jingle-jingle-jangle (christmas special) https://tubitv.com/movies/100053582/ed-edd-n-eddy-s-big...

Pac-Man Ultimate Edition chats: Dev team member Flicky1211

Image
    PART OF AN ONGOING SERIES OF INTERVIEWS INVOLVING PAC-MAN ULTIMATE MIX   smashwhammy How did you get started with working on UltiMix flicky1211 It all started back in early 2024, I found a game called "Pac-Man 80". It was a collection of mazes from various Pac-Man games (basically a prototype Ultimate Mix).  I played the game for a bit but noticed it had some issues with inaccuracies in gameplay as well as some other issues.  The game was open source, as I could download the game and make changes to the game on my own side. At that point, I got to work on some improvements. Originally, they were very small changes, such as changing Pinky and Sue's speed to match the rest of the cast and some maze design fixes. Eventually though, it led to an entire project to make the game as close to the arcade trilogy as possible. This was mainly a solo project, though I did have some help and suggestions from a few other friends of mine. At some point, I thought it was ti...