Is it American or Japanese sourced?

 NOTHING CLEVER HERE

So you never watched anime, subbed or dubbed...
So you never watched toku, subbed, dubbed, or Americanized
And you think you never touched anything that has any Japanese influence... (Ok, MAYBE except for Nintendo, Sega, or the PlayStation line)

Well, you have!  For over 35 seasons. On a show with America IN THE TITLE!

America's Funniest Home Videos: an American Sunday night tradition...
was licensed from a Japanese variety show.

Want proof? Don't skip the credits. Any episode, Any hosting era, they all have the same acknowledgment of this fact.
In fact, a lot of early season 1 clips were from Japan (while the tapes were still being filtered from all the mail Americans have sent)

Another thing: ever actually seen a extra messy Japanese game show? No? That's because it's a myth
Best I can offer is Marc Summers with Super Sloppy Double Dare right here in the USA.  If not JD Roth's Fun House

So the thing you thought was US born and bred?  Japanese in origin.
And the trope you thought belonged to Japan?  Bright orange with a hint of red, white, and blue.

Hold up... I'm seeing the Timeranger crew, the Chief of Acme Time Net, and the Doctor stepping out of their respective time traveling devices...all mad at me for allegedly messing with the timeline

So much for that dissertation on the differences between Mt Midoriyama, the Aggro Crag, and Mt St Double Dare...
 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Confessions of a Chuck E Cheese employee: Volume 3

Confessions of a Chuck E Cheese employee